top of page

The  Present  Board Members

  • Paul Giffin  (Chair)

  • Erik Johnson

  • John Moeller

  • Diana Moher

  • Chris Windess

  • Charlene Wells

  • Kent Moen


Paul Giffin MB

Has been a resident of Gabriola for over 20 years and was elected as a Trustee in 2019.

Presently retired, however was involved in Emergency Response and Emergency Management on all three Canadian Coasts for over 50 years. In addition, has instructed First Aid Courses at the Provincial Level and has instructed and co-ordinated underwater recovery training and operations at the Provincial and National Level.

Paul is currently involved in the following, in addition to his Trustee duties

  • A member of the Canadian Air Search and Rescue Association unit in Nanaimo

  • Holds the position of Regional Emergency Radio Representative for the Vancouver Island Region with Emergency Management British Columbia.

  • Is the Emergency Radio Co-ordinator  (Amateur Radio) for the City of Nanaimo and the southern half of the Regional District of Nanaimo which includes Gabriola Island.

  • Is President of the Coast Emergency Communications Association and is responsible for the delivery of auxiliary communications during times of the loss of normal communications. This organization has 35 members with an area of responsibility from Nanoose to the Nanaimo Airport.

  • Serves on a National Committee f the Radio Amateurs of Canada to create a National digital radio network and to develop training criteria.

  • Has been a member of the Gabriola Lunch Bunch since 2008.

Erik Johnson

Erik Johnson is a Toronto born resident of British Columbia since 1971. An avid horseman and a fan of rural life,  Erik has lived on Gabriola since 1990, with a secondary home in Nashville Tn. for fifteen of those years. He is a Red Seal Carpenter who was been in the trade 55 years as a curved staircase and high end finishing carpentry specialist for most of those years. He also has background as a framing carpenter, as a layout man and working foreman, and on occasion project superintendent/manager/historic restoration moulding design and install specialist.  Erik has pursued a parallel path since high school as a working musician, songwriter, arranger and Nashville recording artist. He has had numerous songs on the radio as an act, and has had success as the author of Jim Byrnes Juno winning hit “That River”. Several of his songs have been used in motion pictures. Erik is also the co-writer of “Vicksburg Call” and “Silver Cup”, the title tracks to hit albums by  blues great David Gogo. Semi-semi retired from carpenter, Erik is still writing and recording, while studying Black Gospel arranging and working as the lead guitarist for Canadiana band Snake Island Railroad.

John Moeller

is a long time Gabriola resident and entrepeneur. He has lived in the community for over 25 years and has been a GFPID Trustee since 2017. John has a background in finance and business development and would like to see the Fire Department continue to run efficiently effectively.

Diana Moher

has been a resident of Gabriola since 1986. She earned her BA and worked as a Paralegal in Edmonton for 12 years and in the Nanaimo School District for 31 years. Diana has had various First Aid tickets, training in SARS and Emergency Prep. Has participated in numerous community boards over the years. In addition to the Fire Hall duties, Diana sits on the Community Hall Board.

Chris Windess

trained as a teacher in England. After completing the main course at Weymouth Teacher Training College  (attached  to Southampton University) he worked in the building industry as a Quantitive Surveyor and Contracts Officer, as teaching positions were sparse in the UK.  His first teaching was completed in  Garrison / Provincial schools for the British Army, then moving into civilian schools, Middle and Elementary, for a total of almost 34 years. He has served on many scholastic panels, Provincial Panels and Committees including the Science and Technology Panel for his province, Teletext Software Transmission Team in conjunction with the BBC, IT Co-Ordinator (one of two) for one of the New Forest Schools IT Pyramids , before retiring. Chris stood for election as he wanted to serve the local  community to the best of his ability and to continue fostering accountability and transparency in the island organization.

Charlene Wells    

Volunteer Board Experience :

I have sat on 3 different Boards including being President / Chair of one.


Work( Experience and Duties):

-Registered Education Savings Plans-Consultant

-Large Charitable Organization - Administration, Personnel, Finance including payroll, budgets,  bookkeeping, and Interacting with Volunteers from various backgrounds

-Personnel Agency - Organization and People Skills

  -Retail Owner - Introduced a new Boutique to Winnipeg, Manager, Finance ( budgets & payroll), Advertising, Planning, Staffing, Planning, People Skills 

-Medical Field - dealing with the Public who were often under stress 

Kent Moen    

Kent has been a resident and business owner on Gabriola since 2008. After a 25 - year career in retail management, in three provinces, he had the opportunity to purchase Wild Rose Garden Centre. Kent has an interest in Community Service and has served in executive positions in Community organizations in the past. 

bottom of page